March 2013 Birchbox #1

IMG_20140307_161329 (2)

I hadn’t even realized my Birchbox had shipped when I found it in the mailbox a few days ago! I love surprises in the mailbox 😀

I am very excited about my first box this month! (I subscribe to 2, but I haven’t gotten the other one yet). Here’s a closer look at what I got:

IMAG0829

The first item is from Gilchrist & Soames London Collection Body Lotion. I like the smell. It’s very subtle so you can easily wear it with other scents (i.e. perfume) without clashing. It soaks in quite nicely and leaves my skin feeling very soft. I’ll be saving this for later in the spring or summer when my skin isn’t quite so extremely dry. While it’s a good moisturizer, it not geared towards very dry skin. Full size is $16 for 8 oz. My generous sample was 1.5 oz making it worth $3

The second product is one that I’ve gotten quite a few times, and don’t mind seeing it again. It’s the Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle Leave In Conditioner. It smells SO good and works very well to detangle my super long hair. I also like to use this on my 3 year olds hair. She wakes up every single day with tangles in her hair. The full size $21.95 for 8 oz. My sample doesn’t state the size, but it looks to be about 1 oz, so it’s worth about $2.75

Next is something I’m very excited to see! The Coola Tinted Matte SPF 30 for Face. I’m going on a cruise to the Bahamas next month (I actually won this trip, and I’ll definitely be reviewing my experience) so this is perfect for my trip! I’ve heard so many great things about Coola. It also says that it’s a BB Cream so it just makes it that much better! I’m not sure how much makeup I’m going to want to wear while in the Bahamas since it’s so hot. I think this may be the perfect product for me Yay! Full size is $36 for 1.7 oz. My sample is .17 oz worth $3.60

IMAG0831

Next up is Tea Forte minteas. The flavor I received is Lemongrass Yuzu. I’ve gotten these  before in Ginger Pear. Now, I love tea and I usually love anything mint, but these are just gross (both flavors). It just tastes medicine-y with a mint after taste. These are $9.95 for a 3 pack. I received 1 full size tin worth $3.32

Harvey Prince Cherie Blossom is the last sample from my box. I am a huge Harvey Prince fan so I was actually hoping to see this in one of my boxes eventually. While it’s not terrible, it’s my least favorite Harvey Prince scent. It’s a little more musky than their other scents. I was definitely hoping for more of a clean smell (more like BBW). Full size is $55 for .50 ml The vial doesn’t have a size on it, so I can’t price it out. But I can say that I really like their vial samples. They have a spray pump (so much better than having to dab it on) and for a perfume vial, it’s they’re pretty big. While they’re the same height as the Juicy Couture samples, they’re much wider around.

Ghiradelli Intense Dark Cherry Tango was a bonus item, It was absolutely delicious! I’m not a huge chocolate fan, but I love cherry, so it  was right up my alley. It’s full of cherry and almond pieces making it super yummy! I’m definitely going to have to pick up some! Since it’s a bonus item & not even sold at Birchbox, I’m not including it in my box total.

I love this box! Yes, the mints are gross and I didn’t like the perfume (but I really wanted to try it, so I’m still happy I got it), But I will definitely use everything else. Who knows, maybe the perfume will grow on me…

Not including the chocolate or the perfume, I came up with a value of $12.67. Not the highest valued box, but that doesn’t always matter to me. For me, it’s all about trying new products.

You can subscribe to Birchbox here:https://www.birchbox.com/invite/lgrwg 

*I paid for this subscription myself and was not compensated in any way. All opinions are my own*

Leave a Reply

